Horace Mann - NEA Foundation Award

Education Programs

Horace Mann partners with the NEA Foundation to recognize, reward and promote excellence in teaching through the annual Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence.

We congratulate the following 2018 winners:

  • Revathi Balakrishnan, Patsy Sommer Elementary School, Austin, Texas (Agent Rob Billingsley)
  • Bobbie Canvar, South Point High School, Belmont, North Carolina (Agent Bob Furlong)
  • Afreen Gootee, The Georgetown School, Mechanicsville, Virginia (Agent Eric Cofer)
  • Crystal May, Pray-Woodman Elementary, Maize, Kansas (Territory Leader Robert Curtis)
  • Dr. Tia Mills, Eden Park Academy, Baton Rouge, Louisiana (Agent Jeffrey Russell)

Nomination Process

Each spring, the NEA Foundation accepts nominations from NEA federal, state and direct affiliates for the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence. All nominees must be nominated by an NEA affiliate.

Learn more about the online nomination process at the NEA Foundation’s website.

WBER-0801 (02/14)

© 2017 Horace Mann Educators Corporation

CUSTOMER SERVICE Call 800-999-1030

  • Auto and Property
    M – F, 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. Central time.
  • Life, Annuity and Group
    M – F, 7 a.m. - 7 p.m. Central time.